Frequently asked questions

More information for inquiring minds

A specific question comes up while doing one of the program’s activities? Check our FAQ section to see if it’s already been answered.

If you have more questions, do not hesitate to contact us

1. Is there a link between screen time and heart disease?

Inactive screen time is linked to obesity and chronic disease, including cardiovascular disease and diabetes. Children who spend a lot of time in front of screens are more likely to be sedentary, to eat more, and to move less, thereby expending less energy (then, they are more likely to be overweight or obese, which increases the risk of developing chronic disease in the long run).

2. Does playing active video games, such as the Wii and XBox, count as physical activity?

The Screen Smart! program considers active video games a physical activity if they are played actively for more than 15 minutes, if the participant gets hot, if their heart rate increases and if they feel like they have worked their muscles while playing. Active video games can be an occasional alternative to recreational activities when, for example, the weather is inclement.

3. What can we do to encourage a child to be more physically active?

Encourage the child to do sports with his/her family, with a friend or with a pet, while keeping it fun, for example: going to the pool, playing soccer, playing hide and seek, playing Frisbee or catch with the family dog. This will help the child develop a love of physical activity as he/she will associate physical activity with social pleasure and positive experiences (Weight Coalition).

4. What are examples of safe active transportation for children?

Over the past 30 years, we have seen fewer and fewer children walking to school while childhood obesity rates have continuously increased (Weight Coalition). Active transportation is recognized as a significant form of physical activity for our youth. By encouraging children to use safe active transportation such as walking, biking, skateboarding or rollerblading to go to school, we can help them remain active. For example, walking (for 10 minutes continuously) at a pace that causes slight shortness of breath, can go a long way in helping children reach the minimum recommended 60 minutes of physical activity per day (Active Healthy Kids Canada, 2013).

5. Are there initiatives in Québec to promote physical activity in schools?

There are currently several inspiring initiatives in Québec to encourage children to be more active at school. For example, Mon école s’active pour réussir, is a program created by the Université de Sherbrooke which proposes the integration of 20 minutes of physical activity daily during school hours. The Québec Sports and Physical Activity Day is another project that gives schools the opportunity to promote and organize physical activities for their students. There is also the policy framework called Going the Healthy Route at School developed by the ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport in 2007, which aims to help schools create an environment that fosters healthy lifestyle habits. The Heart and Stroke Foundation has created the Jump for Heart and On the Road to a Happy Heart programs to promote physical activity in elementary schools.

For more information, please visit the following websites:

6. What is the maximum amount of time that should be spent in front of screens?

The recommended daily maximum recreational screen time is set at less than one hour a day for children between the ages of 2 and 5 and less than two hours daily for children over 5. According to the Canadian Paediatric Society, children under two years of age should not be exposed to screens at all. In addition to being linked to a sedentary lifestyle, screen time replaces physical activity, reading and social interaction which are more enriching activities. Trading 30 minutes of screen time for another fun activity has a positive impact on children’s health.

7. What constitutes beneficial physical activity (moderate to high level intensity)?

In order to present health benefits for children, physical activity must be of moderate to high intensity. Any activity a child enjoys can be considered beneficial to health. Obviously, the more the child moves, the better! Moderate intensity physical activity causes slight shortness of breath, which increases progressively as the intensity level goes up. High intensity physical activity is marked by greater shortness of breath that may make it difficult to hold a conversation. Here are some examples: walking or biking to school would be considered a moderate intensity activity whereas swimming, playing hockey or running are high intensity activities. But the objective remains to keep the child from being inactive and immobile!

8. Is it true that physical activity improves concentration?

Physical activity is beneficial to overall health in many ways. It reduces the risk of chronic disease (obesity, cardiovascular disease and diabetes), and improves mental health, social skills and concentration. Physical activity has a positive impact on academic success by improving concentration, the capacity to pay attention and memory (Weight Coalition).

9. Is sending a message to family or friends through electronic means considered screen time?

Screen time includes all recreational time spent in front of a screen that leads to inactivity. If children spend time reading an educational book or communicating with family or friends for less than 30 minutes, that time is not considered screen time.

Close ×

This turnkey program was adapted by The Heart and Stroke Foundation for distribution in the province of Québec. The Heart and Stroke Foundation, a volunteer-based health charity, leads in eliminating heart disease and stroke and reducing their impacts by:

  •    Preventing disease (e.g. give children and youth the best start for a long, healthy life)
  •    Saving lives (e.g. enable faster, better cardiac emergency response and treatment)
  •    Promoting recovery (e.g. enhance support for survivors, families and caregivers)

Foire aux questions

Des informations supplémentaires pour les curieux

Une question spécifique vous est posée lors de l’animation des activités du programme? Nous tenterons d’y répondre grâce aux neuf questions et réponses élaborées dans cette section.

Si vous avez d'autres questions, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter

1. Existe-t-il un lien entre le temps passé devant les écrans et les maladies du cœur?

Le comportement sédentaire devant un écran est associé à l’obésité et aux maladies chroniques, qui incluent notamment les maladies cardiovasculaires et le diabète. Les enfants qui passent beaucoup d’heures devant les écrans sont plus à risque d’être sédentaires, de manger davantage, de moins bouger et donc de dépenser moins d’énergie (ils sont alors plus à risque de souffrir d’embonpoint ou d’obésité, ce qui augmente leur risque de développer des maladies chroniques à long terme).

2. Est-ce que les jeux vidéo actifs, comme la Wii et la Xbox, comptent comme une activité physique?

Le programme Sois futé, écran fermé! classifie les jeux vidéo actifs comme une activité physique si on joue activement pendant plus de 15 minutes, si on a chaud, si notre cœur bat plus fort et si on sent qu’on a fait travailler nos muscles durant les jeux. Les jeux vidéo actifs peuvent occasionnellement remplacer une activité récréative, par exemple lorsque la température n’est pas clémente.

3. Que peut-on faire pour encourager un jeune à faire de l’activité physique?

Proposez à un enfant de faire du sport en famille, avec un ami ou avec son animal de compagnie tout en s’amusant, comme aller à la piscine, jouer au soccer, jouer à cache-cache, jouer au Frisbee ou à la balle avec son chien. Cela augmentera l’intérêt du jeune pour l’activité physique, car il associera celle-ci au plaisir social et à une expérience positive (Coalition Poids).

4. Quels sont les moyens de transport actif sécuritaires pour nos jeunes?

Depuis 30 ans, les enfants marchent de moins en moins pour aller à l’école alors que l’obésité infantile ne cesse d’augmenter (Coalition Poids). Le transport actif est reconnu comme étant une source importante d’activité physique pour nos jeunes. En encourageant les élèves à utiliser des moyens de transport actif sécuritaires tels que la marche, le vélo, la planche à roulettes et les patins à roulettes alignées pour se rendre à l’école, nous les aidons à demeurer actifs. Par exemple, une marche d’un minimum de 10 minutes continues qui engendre un léger essoufflement contribuera de façon importante à atteindre la recommandation minimale de 60 minutes d’activité physique chez les enfants (Jeunes en forme Canada, 2013).

5. Existe-t-il des initiatives au Québec pour encourager l’activité physique dans les écoles?

Plusieurs initiatives inspirantes existent actuellement au Québec pour encourager les jeunes à être plus actifs à l’école. Par exemple, Mon école s’active pour réussir, est un programme initié par l’Université de Sherbrooke qui propose d’intégrer 20 minutes d’activité physique quotidienne durant les heures de classe. La Journée nationale du sport et de l’activité physique est un autre projet qui offre aux écoles l’occasion d’encourager l’activité physique et d’organiser des activités pour leurs élèves. Il y a aussi la politique-cadre Pour un virage santé à l’école, développée par le ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport en 2007, qui vise la mise en place de saines habitudes de vie dans les écoles. Pour sa part, la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l'AVC a mis sur pied les programmmes Sautons en cœur et En route, en cœur afin d'encourager l'activité physique en milieu scolaire.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter les sites suivants :

6. Quel est le temps maximal quotidien qui devrait être alloué aux écrans?

Le temps d’écran maximal recommandé quotidiennement, à des fins récréatives, est de moins de 1 heure pour les enfants de 2 à 5 ans et de moins de 2 heures par jour pour les enfants de plus de 5 ans. Selon la Société canadienne de pédiatrie, les enfants de moins de 2 ans ne devraient pas être exposés aux écrans. En plus d’être lié à la sédentarité, le temps d’écran remplace l’activité physique, la lecture et les relations sociales, qui sont des activités plus enrichissantes et essentielles au développement. Échanger 30 minutes d’activité devant un écran contre une autre activité amusante a une incidence importante sur la santé des enfants.

7. Qu’est-ce qu’une activité physique bénéfique (intensité modérée à élevée)?

Une activité physique bénéfique pour un enfant doit se situer dans une zone d’intensité modérée à élevée. Toute activité physique à laquelle l’enfant prend du plaisir à participer peut être considérée comme bénéfique pour sa santé. Évidemment, plus il bouge, mieux c’est! L’intensité modérée s’accompagne d’un léger essoufflement, qui augmente proportionnellement avec l’intensité. Pour sa part, une activité d’intensité élevée se reconnaît par un essoufflement prononcé qui pourrait gêner la conversation. En voici quelques exemples : marcher ou utiliser un vélo pour aller à l’école sont des activités modérées, tandis que la natation, le hockey et la course sont d’intensité dite élevée. Dans tous les cas, nous voulons éviter que le jeune demeure inactif et qu’il ne bouge pas !

8. Est-ce vrai que l’activité physique est bénéfique pour la concentration?

L’activité physique offre beaucoup d’avantages pour la santé globale. Elle diminue le risque de maladies chroniques (obésité, maladies cardiovasculaires, diabète) et améliore la santé mentale, les compétences sociales et la concentration. Aussi, l’activité physique favorise la réussite scolaire attribuable aux facteurs prédisposant à l’apprentissage, comme la concentration, la capacité d’attention et la mémoire (Coalition Poids).

9. Le fait d’envoyer un message électronique à un ami ou à un membre de la famille fait-il partie du temps d’écran?

Le temps d’écran inclut tout le temps récréatif passé devant un écran et relié à la sédentarité. Si le jeune passe du temps à lire un livre éducatif ou à communiquer avec sa famille ou des amis pendant moins de 30 minutes, ce temps n’est pas considéré comme du temps d’écran.

Fermer ×

Ce programme a été adapté pour le Québec par la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC. Organisme bénévole de bienfaisance en santé, la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC mène la lutte vers l’élimination des maladies du cœur et des AVC pour vivre en santé, en contribuant activement à :

  •   prévenir les maladies (offrir aux jeunes le meilleur départ pour une vie longue et en santé)
  •   préserver la vie (intervenir plus rapidement et offrir un meilleur traitement en cas d’urgences)
  •   favoriser le rétablissement (améliorer le soutien pour les survivants, les familles et les aidants)